Help | Home » Tipitaka » Sutta Pitaka » Khuddaka Nikaya » Context of the Therigatha


Verses of the Elder Nuns

(selected verses)

Find a sutta by name | †Download this anthology

See also the Theragatha (Verses of the Elder Monks).

The Therigatha, the ninth book of the Khuddaka Nikaya, consists of 73 poems (522 verses in all) in which the early nuns (bhikkhunis) recount their struggles and accomplishments along the road to arahantship. Their stories are told with often heart-breaking honesty and beauty, revealing the deeply human side of these extraordinary women, and thus serve as inspiring reminders of our own potential to follow in their footsteps.

The braces {} that follow each sutta title contain the verse numbers of the corresponding Pali text of the Therigatha.

See also: Inspiration from Enlightened Nuns (Susan Elbaum Jootla).
Revised: Wednesday 2004.11.24