Help | Home » Tipitaka » Sutta Pitaka » Context of the Digha Nikaya

Digha Nikaya

The Long Discourses

(selected suttas)

Find a sutta by name | †Download this anthology
Read about sutta reference numbers

The Digha Nikaya, or "Collection of Long Discourses" (Pali digha = "long") is the first division of the Sutta Pitaka, and consists of thirty-four suttas, grouped into three vaggas, or divisions:

An excellent modern translation of the complete Digha Nikaya is Maurice Walshe's The Long Discourses of the Buddha: A Translation of the Digha Nikaya (formerly titled: Thus Have I Heard) (Boston: Wisdom Publications, 1987).

The braces {} that follow each sutta title contain the corresponding volume and starting page number in the PTS romanized Pali edition.

Revised: Wednesday 2004.11.24