Help | Home » Tipitaka » Sutta Pitaka » Context of the Samyutta Nikaya

Samyutta Nikaya

The Grouped Discourses

(selected suttas)

Find a sutta by name | †Download this anthology
Read about sutta reference numbers

The Samyutta Nikaya, the third division of the Sutta Pitaka, contains 2,889 suttas grouped into five sections (vaggas). Each vagga is further divided into samyuttas, each of which in turn contains a group of suttas on related topics. The samyuttas are named according to the topics of the suttas they contain. For example, the Kosala Samyutta (in the Sagatha Vagga) contains suttas concerning King Pasenadi of Kosala; the Vedana Samyutta (in the Salayatana Vagga) contains suttas concerning feeling (vedana); and so on.

An excellent modern print translation of the complete Samyutta Nikaya is Bhikkhu Bodhi's The Connected Discourses of the Buddha: A New Translation of the Samyutta Nikaya (Boston: Wisdom Publications, 2000; originally published in two volumes, but now available in a single volume).

The suttas are numbered here by samyutta (chapter) and sutta, with the suttas numbered sequentially from the start of each samyutta, using the Rhys Davis & Woodward PTS English translations of the Samyutta Nikaya (The Book of the Kindred Sayings) as a guide. The braces {} that follow each sutta and samyutta title contain the corresponding volume and starting page number, both in the PTS romanized Pali edition of the Samyutta Nikaya and in Bhikkhu Bodhi's Connected Discourses of the Buddha ("CDB").


Sagatha Vagga (samyuttas I-XI)

I. Devata-samyutta -- Devas {S i 1; CDB i 89}.

II. Devaputta-samyutta -- Sons of the Devas {S i 46; CDB i 139}.

III. Kosala-samyutta -- King Pasenadi of Kosala {S i 68; CDB i 164}.

IV. Mara-samyutta -- Mara {S i 103; CDB i 195}. Stories of Mara's attempts to outwit the Buddha.

V. Bhikkhuni-samyutta -- Nuns {S i 128; CDB i 221}. Stories of Mara's attempts to lure the nuns away from their meditation spots in the forest by asking them provocative questions. Without exception, these wise women conquer Mara decisively.

VI. Brahma-samyutta -- Brahma deities {S i 136; CDB i 231}.

VII. Brahmana-samyutta -- Brahmans {S i 160; CDB i 254}.

VIII. Vangisa-samyutta -- Ven. Vangisa {S i 185; CDB i 280}.

IX. Vana-samyutta -- The forest {S i 197; CDB i 294}.

X. Yakkha-samyutta -- Yakkha demons {S i 206; CDB i 305}.

XI. Sakka-samyutta -- Sakka (the Deva king) {S i 216; CDB i 317}.

Nidana Vagga (samyuttas XII-XXI) [go to top]

XII. Nidana-samyutta -- Paticcasamuppada (dependent co-arising) {S ii 1; CDB i 533}.

XIII. Abhisamaya-samyutta -- Realization {S ii 133; CDB i 621}.

XIV. Dhatu-samyutta -- Elements {S ii 140; CDB i 627}.

XV. Anatamagga-samyutta -- The unimaginable beginnings of samsara and transmigration {S ii 178; CDB i 651}.

XVI. Kassapa-samyutta -- Ven. Maha Kassapa {S ii 194; CDB i 662}.

XVII. Labhasakkara-samyutta -- Gains and tribute {S ii 225; CDB i 682}.

XVIII. Rahula-samyutta -- Ven. Rahula {S ii 244; CDB i 694}.

XIX. Lakkhana-samyutta -- Ven. Lakkhana {S ii 254; CDB i 700}.

XX. Opamma-samyutta -- Comparisons {S ii 262; CDB i 706}.

XXI. Bhikkhu-samyutta -- Monks {S ii 273; CDB i 713}.

Khandha Vagga (samyuttas XXII-XXXIV) [go to top]

XXII. Khandha-samyutta -- The clinging-aggregates {S iii 1; CDB i 853}.

XXIII. Radha-samyutta -- Ven. Radha {S iii 188; CDB i 984}.

XXIV. Ditthi-samyutta -- Views {S iii 202; CDB i 991}.

XXV. Okkanta-samyutta -- Entering {S iii 225; CDB i 1004}. In this samyutta the Buddha explains the kinds of conviction and understanding that are required for the attainment of stream-entry. These short suttas share an identical structure, with each one focusing on a different aspect of experience (including the six senses, the six elements (dhatu), and the five aggregates). See also the Study Guides on stream-entry.

XXVI. Uppada-samyutta -- Arising {S iii 228; CDB i 1008}.

XXVII. Kilesa-samyutta -- Defilements {S iii 232; CDB i 1012}.

XXVIII. Sariputta-samyutta -- Ven. Sariputta {S iii 235; CDB i 1015}.

XXIX. Naga-samyutta -- Nagas {S iii 240; CDB i 1020}.

XXX. Supanna-samyutta -- Garudas {S iii 246; CDB i 1023}.

XXXI. Gandhabbakaya-samyutta -- Gandhabba devas {S iii 249; CDB i 1025}.

XXXII. Valahaka-samyutta -- Rain-cloud devas {S iii 254; CDB i 1028}.

XXXIII. Vacchagotta-samyutta -- Ven. Vacchagotta {S iii 257; CDB i 1031}.

XXXIV. Jhana-samyutta -- Concentration {S iii 264; CDB i 1034}.

Salayatana Vagga (samyuttas XXXV-XLIV) [go to top]

XXXV. Salayatana-samyutta -- The six senses {S iv 1; CDB ii 1133}.

XXXVI. Vedana-samyutta -- Feeling {S iv 204; CDB ii 1260}.

XXXVII. Matugama-samyutta -- Destinies of women {S iv 238; CDB ii 1286}.

XXXVIII. Jambhukhadaka-samyutta -- Jambhukhadaka the wanderer {S iv 251; CDB ii 1294}.

XXXIX. Samandaka-samyutta -- Samandaka the wanderer {S iv 261; CDB ii 1301}.

XL. Moggallana-samyutta -- Ven. Moggallana {S iv 261; CDB ii 1302}.

XLI. Citta-samyutta -- Citta the householder {S iv 281; CDB ii 1314}.

XLII. Gamani-samyutta -- Village headmen {S iv 305; CDB ii 1332}.

XLIII. Asankhata-samyutta -- The unfashioned (Nibbana) {S iv 359; CDB ii 1372}.

XLIV. Avyakata-samyutta -- Undeclared {S iv 374; CDB ii 1380}. Introduction to this samyutta, by Thanissaro Bhikkhu.

Maha Vagga (samyuttas XLV-LVI) [go to top]

XLV. Magga-samyutta -- The Noble Eightfold Path {S v 1; CDB ii 1523}.

XLVI. Bojjhanga-samyutta -- The Seven Factors for Awakening {S v 63; CDB ii 1567}. [See "The Seven Factors for Awakening" in The Wings to Awakening.]

XLVII. Satipatthana-samyutta -- The Four Frames of Reference (Foundations of Mindfulness) {S v 141; CDB ii 1627}. [See "The Four Frames of Reference" in The Wings to Awakening.]

XLVIII. Indriya-samyutta -- The Five Mental Faculties {S v 193; CDB ii 1668}. [See "The Five Faculties" in The Wings to Awakening.]

XLIX. Sammappadhana-samyutta -- The Four Right Exertions {S v 244; CDB ii 1709}. [See "The Four Right Exertions" in The Wings to Awakening.]

L. Bala-samyutta -- The Five Strengths {S v 249; CDB ii 1713}. [See "The Five Strengths" in The Wings to Awakening.]

LI. Iddhipada-samyutta -- The Four Bases of Power {S v 254; CDB ii 1718}. [See "The Four Bases of Power" in The Wings to Awakening.]

LII. Anuruddha-samyutta -- Ven. Anuruddha {S v 294; CDB ii 1750}.

LIII. Jhana-samyutta -- Jhana (mental absorption) {S v 307; CDB ii 1762}.

LIV. Anapana-samyutta -- Mindfulness of breathing {S v 311; CDB ii 1765}.

LV. Sotapatti-samyutta -- Stream-entry {S v 342; CDB ii 1788}.

LVI. Sacca-samyutta -- The Four Noble Truths {S v 414; CDB ii 1838}.

Revised: Thursday 2004.12.02